Could a party consisting of level 1 players use a wand of cure light wounds to make up for not having a cleric/healer?
The Use Magic Device skill has DC 20 for using wands, level 1 characters probably have very low skill in UMD. (The skill is not present in the beginner-box, but I suppose one could pretend the skill is available and not trained only)
Using it in combat would obviously be quite the long shot. Can you take 20 when using the wand out of combat? the rules say you can't take 10, but it seems rolling a natural 1 would prevent you to try using the wand for 24 hours which means you can't take 20 since there is a chance of negative effect?