The Combat Rules concerning Splash Weapons go as follows:
If you miss the target (whether aiming at a creature or a grid intersection), roll 1d8. This determines the misdirection of the throw, with 1 falling short (off-target in a straight line toward the thrower), and 2 through 8 rotating around the target creature or grid intersection in a clockwise direction. Then, count a number of squares in the indicated direction equal to the range increment of the throw. After you determine where the weapon landed, it deals splash damage to all creatures in that square and in all adjacent squares.
Illustration given by d20pfsrd.com is:
What I understand
If the X in the above picture misses its target "T", and then roles a 1 on a 1d8, she will hit herself(count a number of squares in the indicated direction equal to the range increment of the throw)
My problem with that
This seem to me as overly harsh to splash weapon users (like Alchemists). Like all ranged attackers, there is a miss chance (a bit lower because vs Touch AC), but if she misses (even without fumbling) there is a 1/8 chance to damage herself AND other ranged party members standing beside her.
Did I just misread? Is there a difference between "range" and "range increment"? How should this be interpreted?