[RPG] move 240′ and attack in one round by using two riding horses


The mounted combat rules aren't very clear and I haven't had much luck finding the answers online. For the sake of this question, let's assume the mount is a riding horse. Can it be used as follows:

Can a mounted rider ride a horse its full distance of 120' (it's movement+dash action), then dismount (for half her move), then mount another horse (with the other half of her move), then ride the second horse its full distance (another 120'), and then attack with her action?

Best Answer

Short simple answer here. No you can't, you can only mount or dismount once per turn. Player's Handbook, page 198:

Mounting and Dismounting

Once during your move, you can mount a creature that is within 5 feet of you or dismount.