[RPG] Move “hex” on target’s death

dnd-5espells

Alright, so the description of the "hex" spell states the following:

[…] If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature. […]

So, the way I understand it, the "subsequent turn" does not have to be directly afterwards, right? I mean, if you do something else for 3 rounds, the 4th round would still technically be a subsequent spell, correct?

Therefore, let's say I cast this spell in the first round of combat, finish my enemies together with the rest of my party and exit combat. Then, thirty minutes later, we enter combat again (and are therefore still within hex's max duration, even if cast at its lowest level).

So my question: Can I still move my hex to an enemy of my choice in this situation? Provided that I kept up concentration for the whole time, of course (which some super-strict DMs might punish), and didn't enter an antimagic field or encountered anything else that would cause the spell to end.

Thanks in advance, appreciate your help!

Best Answer

Yes, Hex can be reapplied on any subsequent turn.

Hex is not limited to next turn, just a subsequent turn. So yes, after your target dies, you can use a bonus action on any turn within the spell's duration to reapply it to another enemy as long as you maintain concentration on it.

This is supported by a Mike Mearls tweet.

Q: If hex can be moved on "any subsequent turn" in the duration does that include "out of combat" situations and following combats?

A: Yes