[RPG] Must I pick the higher die when I roll with advantage


I was reading the question and answers at Can someone decide to be hit?, and the answers spoke of using the rule of Advantage/Disavantage. Which got me thinking…

We had a situation a few weeks back where a player was roleplaying a jerk and was intentionally missing their shots to annoy another player/character. (Funny scene.)

When rolling with Advantage, are you required to use the higher of the two dice?

Best Answer

Yup. Roll 2d20, take the higher.

When you have either advantage or disadvantage, you roll a second d20 when you make the roll. Use the higher of the two rolls if you have advantage. (PHB p.7)

There's no "you may" or "you can" in there, you just do.

(Note that some sources of advantage are optional: if you choose not to "accept" advantage then you, of course, wouldn't roll two and take the higher. And it's not hard to give oneself disadvantage, opposing your advantage. But your question said that you have advantage, in which case there's no option on the dice.)

(Note also that the Lucky feat interacts with (dis)advantage in a counterintuitive way according to Sage Advice.)