[RPG] Polearm master vs disengage


So I know that specific beats generic, but I'm not fully sure about polearm master. Anyone know for sure how these should interact? Have there been official rulings?

  1. If I start a disengage action, and move into/through reach of 1 or more polearm equipped polearm masters, does polearm mastery give them the opportunity attack or not?
    On PHB page 168, Polearm master says:

    When wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures
    provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter the reach you
    have with that weapon.

vs disengage:

If you take the disengage action, your movement doesn't provoke
opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn.

So, is the feat more specific than disengage? I'm on the fence with this one.

  1. Normally, someone who doesn't move/act/react also doesn't trigger opportunity attack, but what about the case of polearm master feat?

Opportunity attacks on PHB: 195 says:

You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or

Is this such a "basic" rule, that it prevents polearm master from gaining an opportunity attack, even though the feat is more specific? I'm apt to give the win to no opportunity attack here, but I'm interested in what you think.

Best Answer

There is no Opportunity Attack

The Polearm Master Feat is clear that the reactionary attack is an Opportunity Attack, and Disengage says that your movement doesn't cause Opportunity Attacks.

In your example, moving into a Polearm Master's reach while Disengaging doesn't trigger the Feat's Opportunity Attack. Think of it as sort of batting away the guy's glaive before moving in.

Disengage should work this way, otherwise a Polearm Master can always attempt to Opportunity Attack against an approaching foe.