[RPG] Should I use assumed value when using the spell Wish to produce a house or similar object


So I was looking into the spell wish, and according to its description, it has the ability to produce an object up to 25,000gp of value. I was wondering if this could be used to produce a homestead, but there appears to be a debate on the cost of a house mainly due to its location. Should this be taken into consideration or just the raw material necessary to make the house and assume magic builds it?

Best Answer

Ask your DM.

Like many parts of the D&D 5E rules, a lot of specifics and clarifications are left up to the DM to decide. It's very unlikely that you'll get a solid answer from the book about this, because as you point out in your question, even something as simple as "how much does a house cost" is going to be complicated enough to require in-game adjudication by a DM. There are three different approaches to this issue that I can see, all of which are entirely valid and supported by the system.

1. The total cost of the house must cost less than 25,000G.

This approach means that everything involved in the normal purchase of the house has to be considered in the wish. Buying the land, buying the raw materials, shipping the raw materials to the build site, labor, buying appropriate land deeds to make the purchase legal, and anything else that might plausibly come up when building a house using mundane means must be accounted for under the 25,000G price limit. This approach treats wish as a way to effectively give you a 25,000G bonus, as well as speeding up the process of spending it, and gives you both a house and the legal right to own that house.

2. The cost of the raw materials must cost less than 25,000G.

This approach focuses on the wording of wish that says that it creates an object. This wish won't affect the legal standing of the land or provide any other ancillary benefits, but will make a proportionally larger house than option 1. In this approach, the wish is just creating the house itself and placing it where you direct, and thus doesn't need to care about outside cost considerations.

3. It's wish. Do whatever you want.

The wish spell is a big deal. It's a 9th level spell, it has some serious drawbacks, and there's a significant chance that any single wish will be your last. In my games, if a player is using wish on something as mundane as a house, I'm going to let them have as much house as they want, and not bother them with the legal issues. In this approach, the precise GP value of the house or the land that it's on isn't important enough to the game to be calculated precisely, and so is handwaved as "probably less than 25,000G, so let's move on with the game".