[RPG] Spellcasting with focus and shield

dnd-5eshieldspell-componentsspells

Warlock with Wand +1 and shield (hexblade, he has proficiency in shields)

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components—or to hold a spellcasting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components (PHB p.203)

Can he cast spells that need S component but not M? (without warcaster feat)

Best Answer

RAW. It would appear not.

According to the Sage Advice Compendium referenced in this answer state that you can only use the hand holding your focus if the spell requires a non-costly material component.

This seems to make no sense and is likely one of those rulings from the devs that I will ignore as illogical. There is seemingly no difference between somatic components between a spell that requires material components and one that doesn't. There is nothing breaking in this decision at all. Most of us hand waive over the free hand to a certain extent anyway. The SA ruling seems to be overly punishing.