[RPG] still make an opportunity attack against a creature I have previously disengaged from


Let's say that I am in melee with an enemy. On my turn, for one reason or another, I take the Disengage action but do not move out of melee range.

In the same round, the enemy starts their turn by moving out of my reach.

The PHB says [emphasis mine]:

If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks for the rest of the turn.

The phrase "the turn" is ambiguous as to whether it is only my turn.

According to RAW, does the Disengage action negate my ability to take an Opportunity Attack? Should I get an Opportunity Attack in this situation?

Best Answer

Yes, disengage does not prevent you from making opportunity attacks, only provoking them.

If you take the Disengage action, your movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the turn.

Only your movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks. Everybody else's movement provokes as normal.

Since the enemy's movement still provokes an opportunity attack, they provoke one from you which you can take just like normal.

What is a turn?

Even though it doesn't matter for your case here, a turn is the time when your character can move and/or take actions. When they are done with doing those things their turn is done. A round is the series of every character's turn from the first person to the last. After the last person's turn ends, the round ends and then begins anew.

In this case, you take the Disengage action on your turn and then you end it by an enemy. At this point, Disengage no longer has any effect since your turn is done. Your enemy's turn starts and they move away from you, provoking an Opportunity Attack from you according to the normal rules.