[RPG] Swallow ability vs Freedom of Movement


Can a PC with Freedom of Movement escape from being swallowed?

For example, a Kraken swallows a PC who has freedom of movement. Would that PC be able to leave or not?

Best Answer

No, it cannot help you escape once swallowed

The relevant parts of the Freedom of Movement spell are quoted below (PHB pg 244):

... spells and other magical effects can neither reduce the targets speed nor cause the target to be paralyzed or restrained.

Being swallowed is neither a spell nor magical effect so this paragraph doesn't help us.

The target can also spend 5 feet of Movement to automatically escape from nonmagical restraints, such as Manacles or a creature that has it Grappled.

Grappled is not Restrained, so this would not get the PC out of being swallowed. If your DM took a more generous reading of that line quoted above, then they could interpret "nonmagical restraints" to include anything that gives you the Restrained condition, but that's not how I read it.

Assuming you had the spell cast on you before you were swallowed, you could get out of the initial grapple that allowed the Kraken to swallow you, since it can only swallow a creature that it has previously grappled. From MM pg 197:

If the target is a Large or smaller creature grappled by the kraken, that creature is swallowed...

Related Topic