[RPG] take a feat at level 1 if I use the skill points to meet the prerequisite skill ranks


The feat Practiced Spellcaster (Complete Arcane, p. 82) has a prerequisite of four skill ranks in Spellcraft.

Can I take this feat at 1st level if I use my skill points to get Spellcraft to four ranks? Is there an answer from an official source?

Best Answer


The d20 SRD has this to say about feat prerequisites:

Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality designated in order to select or use that feat. A character can gain a feat at the same level at which he or she gains the prerequisite.

It's perfectly okay to use your first-level skill points to qualify you for this feat.

Related Topic