[RPG] use the Immovable Object spell to fly

dnd-5espells

Immovable Object states:

You and the creatures you designate when you cast this spell can move the object normally.

This seems to imply that you can choose to move the object or let it remain immovable while you interact with it. Considering each individual boot is less than 10 pounds and I weigh less than 4000 pounds, I could cast Immovable Object on my boots. Since I can freely move the boots, I could effectively walk around in the air, essentially flying. If this is cast at 6th level, I would then be able to fly forever and could enchant every member of my party with permanent flight.

Is this true, or did I misinterpret something in the spell's description?

Best Answer

No, the boots are always able to be moved by you

The spell says

You and the creatures you designate when you cast this spell can move the object normally.

The spell doesn't say you can tell the object to fix in place and then be free floating for you again. It is either fixed (for creatures not designated by you) or freely moveable by you (and those you nominate).

So you don't have the option to make it immovable for you and then movable again a second later. For you, it is as if the spell is not in effect.