[RPG] Using the Grappler feat, can you grapple and pin (restrain) in the same action


Using the Grappler feat, one can pin a grappled target. While grappling uses one of your attacks, in the rulebook pinning takes an action.

Can I, via multi-attack access to 2 attacks, use both attacks to first grapple and then pin?

Best Answer

This doesn't work

The attack action is only able to perform the grapple:

...you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

The pin ability granted by the Grappler feat is a different action altogether:

You can use your action to try to pin a creature grappled by you.

You would have to use your Action Surge to get an extra action (or gain it from another source) to perform both in one turn:

On your turn, you can take one additional action.