[RPG] What defines a “willing target”


In context, I'm building a character for a mid-level DnD 3.5 game (actually a replacement for one that was killed) and was considering getting him a Contact Medallion as part of his gear. The item's description says it works "as Rary's Telepathic Bond", and said spell has in its description that it needs a willing target, though the item's description does not give this limitation. In any case, would "willing target" mean I can only use my Medallion to contact teammates from afar, or could I simply use it on anyone within a mile who I am sufficiently familiar with and/or is not actively attacking/hostile to me?

Best Answer

From the Magic Overview section, under targets:

Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you’re flat-footed or it isn’t your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.

I don't have access to the text for that magic item, but telepathic bond by itself can't be cast at the sort of distance you're talking about. Instead, you cast it on several people who are close by, and they can then communicate over a great distance while the spell is active.

I'm not sure how/if the item bypasses this restriction, but the text is likely relevant to your question.