[RPG] What does it mean to be able to cast a spell “at will”


Throughout the D&D 5e Player's Handbook, particularly in the warlock's Eldritch Invocations, there are abilities that allow the player to cast specific spells "at will, without consuming a spell slot."

However, there is no detail given on what exactly "at will" is supposed to mean.

Am I correct in assuming "at will" means "does not consume spell slot", and nothing more?

Best Answer

It only means "an unlimited number of times," not that it bypasses any other normal rules about actions, casting times, and turns.