[RPG] What happens if you get over 20 on a death save


Normally with when you roll death saves, you get up with 1 HP if you roll a 20. But how does this apply with modifiers like Bless?

You bless up to three creatures of your choice within range. Whenever
a target makes an attack roll or a saving throw before the spell ends,
the target can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to the attack roll
or saving throw.

Would Bless bringing it to 20 or over count for the waking back up function?

Best Answer

You get a success and nothing more

Only rolling a natural 20 or a natural 1 has any predetermined effect when making a death save throw. When one of those is rolled, you follow the rule below:

When you make a death saving throw and roll a 1 on the d20, it counts as two failures. If you roll a 20 on the d20, you regain 1 hit point.