[RPG] What happens to equipment and armour when you shapeshift


I'm a bit unclear what happens to equipment when a shapeshift is used (eg Shapeshift, Wild Form, Dragon Form, etc etc) for some cases this melds equipment into a creature – still with magical effects, but no armour modifier, if I'm correct, but…

…a couple of questions to clarify:

  • What happens to armour and equipment if a humanoid character shapeshifts into a monster?
  • What happens if a monster character (eg a dragon) shapeshifts to a humanoid character, puts on armour and equipment then cancels the shapeshift?

Best Answer

D&D 3.5

"Any equipment worn when shifting is absorbed into your new body, granting only magical effects, not physical ones. Any weapons held are dropped, unless they can be held normally by your new form." source: http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/Shapeshifter_%283.5e_Class%29#Playing_a_Shapeshifter


"Unless the new form is humanoid, all gear merges into the form. Constant bonuses (except AC) remain. Activation items can't be activated. Material components are not accessible while merged into the form." source: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/p/polymorph

That should cover first question.

Second question is more open to interpretation, though I would rule that all equipment adonned after shapeshifting is dropped. Otherwise you end up with abusable rules with non humanoids being able to get permanent bonuses in their normal form. Eg. Alter Self to human, put on +x magical armour, revert to normal form and have the benefits of natural non-humanoid form and magical bonuses.

Related Topic