[RPG] What happens when two characters attune to the same magic item?


Suppose I have an item that requires attunement, and my character has done so.

If another party member (or someone else) acquires that item, can they attune it if the original character hasn't "given up" attunement? I assume that dying cancels any attunement?

Surely, it's not "last attuner wins."

Best Answer

"Last attuner wins"

Yes, it really does work like that (emphasis added):

A creature's attunement to an item ends if the creature no longer satisfies the prerequisites for attunement, if the item has been more than 100 feet away for at least 24 hours, if the creature dies, or if another creature attunes to the item.

So yes, if a character attunes to an item, it breaks any existing attunement to that item by another character. In other words, yes, you can "steal" attunement from another character.