[RPG] When attacking with Spiritual Weapon, what must be concealed from the target for me to gain advantage


Spiritual weapon claims that you make a melee spell attack against a target adjacent to your spiritual weapon. The rules for attacking while being unseen state that if the target cannot see you, you gain advantage on your attack against them.

Does this mean that if the enemy can't see you (such as if you were in complete darkness), but they can see your spiritual weapon, you gain advantage to attack them with the spiritual weapon bonus-action attack?

Best Answer

Rules As Written, you get advantage if you're unseen

The rules say:

When you attack a target that you can't see, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. This is true whether you're guessing the target's location or you're targeting a creature you can hear but not see. If the target isn't in the location you targeted, you automatically miss, but the GM typically just says that the attack missed, not whether you guessed the target's location correctly.

When a creature can't see you, you have advantage on attack rolls against it.

If you are hidden--both unseen and unheard--when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses.

"You", written here in these rules, means you, the caster.

If your target can't see you, you would get advantage against it even though they can see your spiritual weapon.

If you can't see your target, then you also get disadvantage against it and they cancel.

The third paragraph also applies: if you attack with your spiritual weapon, it will give away your position.

Clearly This Is Stupid

This is a loophole in the rules. A reasonable DM should house-rule that, when attacking with a spiritual weapon, you can get advantage if the spiritual weapon is unseen, but you cannot get advantage because the caster is unseen.