[RPG] When using a breath weapon do I roll against armor class


In the 5e D&D player's handbook, the Dragonborn's Breath Weapon says:

The DC for this saving throw equals 8 + your Constitution modifier + your proficiency bonus. A creature takes 2d6 damage on a failed save, and half as much damage on a successful one. (pg.34)

So do I perform an attack roll against my target's armor class or do they automatically make a saving throw?

I am similarly confused about regular spells, like Lightning Bolt. Do I do an attack roll or just cast the spell?

It looks like spells bypass AC, but I don't know.

Best Answer

Unless the spell states that you need to make an attack roll, you simply cast the spell and the target(s) must save against the DC of the breath weapon or spell.

So if you have a creature with a breath weapon that has a con of 16 for +3 and +2 prof bonus, you use the breath weapon and all targets must roll a save vs 8 + 3 + 2 = 13. They then take either full or half damage.

Eldritch Blast is an example of a spell with an attack roll and there you roll an attack vs targets AC if it hits damage is dealt.