Say that a creature uses a magic wand to cast a spell (e.g. Entangle). If the user is hit, do they need to make a Con saving throw to maintain concentration on the spell?
[RPG] When using a wand to cast a concentration spell, does the user need to make a saving throw to maintain concentration when damaged
- [RPG] Does the Monster Slayer ranger’s Supernatural Defense feature benefit Constitution saving throws you make to maintain concentration
- [RPG] If I readied a spell with the trigger “When I take damage”, do I have to make a constitution saving throw to avoid losing Concentration
- [RPG] Does the War Caster feat give you advantage on a Constitution saving throw (to maintain concentration) made because of the Sleet Storm spell
- [RPG] Does the Mage Slayer feat impose disadvantage on concentration saves from all damage you deal, or only if damaged by the feat’s reaction attack
Concentration is concentration it doesn't matter if you cast the spell from an item or if you cast the spell from a spell slot.
PHB p203 indicates the rules on when concentration can be broken which include: taking damage, casting another spell (regardless of source) that requires concentration and being killed or incapacitated.
All this said there is a notable exception. Certain sentient items can actually cast a spell themselves and maintain the concentration freeing the wielder from doing so. Blackrazor is an example of that.