[RPG] While casting a 1 round+ spell, can you make attacks of opportunity


If your character is busy doing something as a 1 round+ action, are they able to still take advantage of AoOs?

Best Answer

No, you can't. Because you don't threaten enemies

Core Rulebook, Combat, Full-Round Actions, Cast a Spell (page 187) says:

You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least 1 full round. While casting a spell, you don't threaten any squares around you.

Since you are casting a spell for the full duration of the round, you are not finished casting the spell until the start of your next turn (possibly longer depending on the casting time). This means that while casting a spell that takes 10 minutes (ie: Divination), you cannot make Attacks of Opportunities for 10 minutes.

Attacks of opportunities are usually provoked when an enemy does certain actions while inside your threatened area:

You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you’re unarmed, you don’t normally threaten any squares and thus can’t make attacks of opportunity.