[RPG] Will I take acid damage if I used Ring of Water Walking to walk across a pool of acid


Ring of Water Walking:

While wearing this ring, you can stand on and move across any liquid surface as if it were solid ground.

Water Walk (Spell, emphasis mine):

This spell grants the ability to move across any liquid surface -such as water, acid, mud, snow, quicksand, or lava- as if it were harmless solid ground (creatures crossing molten lava can still take damage from the heat).

Since the Water Walk spell states that it renders acid as a harmless solid surface and the ring does not, can I deduce that I will take acid damage if I walk on an acid pool with the ring?

Best Answer

RAW - You might still take damage

First thing to understand is that the Ring of Water Walking does not, RAW, cast the Water Walking spell because it does not say that it does. So, based on the rule that things do what they say and nothing more, Ring of Water Walking would not render the surfaces you walk explicitly harmless.

However, a DM would have to adjudicate how solid acid would actually behave. A DM could rule that it would reduce or eliminate the damaging effects just because it has solidified.

Also a super strict reading of the effect might conclude that "ground" means normal earthen walking surface. In this case, normal earthen walking surfaces do not usually cause acid damage. (thank you @Nick Brown for the suggestion)