[RPG] Would a simulacrum created by a simulacrum of a caster that can cast simulacrum remain behind if the original simulacrum is destroyed?


A simulacrum of a caster can use magic, or this line would not make sense:

[…] nor can it regain expended Spell Slots.

But a caster can only have one simulacrum:

If you cast this spell again, any currently active duplicates you created with this spell are instantly destroyed.

The simulacrum is not the caster, it is a different creature. Since it has spell slots and the statistics of the caster (Including the spellcasting trait), it could cast simulacrum too. And the duplicate created by the simulacrum's casting is not created by the caster.

So, here is the scenario:

  • Suppose Anne, a caster [class redacted] can cast simulacrum.

  • Anne creates a simulacrum, and names her Betty.

  • Anne commands Betty to cast simulacrum, using a strand of Anne's hair. Christine is created.

  • Anne then (maybe after a long rest) casts simulacrum (of herself) again, creating Dorothy. Betty is Instantly Destroyed.

Since ongoing spell effects do not depend on the caster to continue on, This may leave Anne with Christine and Dorothy, both able to cast simulacrum.

Is there any flaw in the reasoning above? Is it allowed by RAW?

Best Answer

Rules As Written

Simulacrum specifically says the duplicate...

...can take actions and otherwise be affected as a normal creature.

Two normal creatures who cast Simulacrum would not be adversely affected by each other's casting, so there's no reason to believe one simulacrum's casting would affect the original caster's.

Food For Thought

For D&D Adventurers League organized play, they felt the need to explicitly prohibit even trying this. The D&D Adventurers League FAQ says...


The following guidance applies:

No Copies of a Copy. Simulacrums can’t cast simulacrum, or any spell that duplicates its effects.

If they need to prohibit something for organized play not specifically denied in the RAW indicates that it may very well be RAI. I can't provide any hard quotes, but there was conversation in Facebook groups about this DDAL-specific caveat being to reduce complexity and GM load in organized play. It doesn't reflect on normal play.