[RPG] Would dual wielding shields apply the second benefit of Shield Master feat twice


Shield Master feat, second bullet:

If you aren't incapacitated, you can add your shield's AC bonus to any Dexterity saving throw you make against a spell or other harmful effect that targets only you.

PHB pg.170

Would wielding two shields apply a +4 bonus to the Dexterity saving throw detailed in the feat?

Best Answer


The relevant rule in the armor section states:

You can benefit from only one shield at a time.

This means that only one shield serves to give you any benefit (including the ones from the Shield Master feat).

This is further backed up from this Sage Advice page from the lead designer, Jeremy Crawford (thanks @V2Blast in the comments)

No matter how many shields you're wielding, you get the AC bonus only once.