[RPG] Can a ballista be fired once per round with a crew of three


The rules for the ballista on p.255 of the DMG state that to make an attack the weapon must be loaded, aimed and fired. Each of these takes one action. However, could each of these actions be performed by a crew of three, with one character to perform each step, thus allowing the ballista to be fired once per round?

My assumption is yes, but there's nothing textual to support this. Am I missing something?

Best Answer

Yes you can.

It takes 3 actions, as you cited, so all your party would need to do is perform the actions on their turns in the proper order of:

  1. Load
  2. Aim
  3. Fire

This is strictly a RAW answer which respects the action economy of 5e. The ballista does not state that each action requires 1 round, simply that each function requires 1 action. Working as a team to load, aim and fire such a simple weapon is hardly unexpected of seasoned adventurers.