[RPG] Can a character cast Bless on themselves


Last night during a game session, one of the players cast Bless, and requested to target himself as well as 2 party members. On review of the PHB for spell casting and ranges, it was not specified if the caster counts as a valid target for a non-self spell. It did mention cone and line spells that originated from the caster (as in targeting a point at the casters location and emanating out from there), but made no such distinction for ranged spells.

I ruled that the caster was not a valid target, as the range was not self, but now I'm not so sure.

Is the caster of a ranged spell such as Bless considered a valid target (creature in range)?

Best Answer

Yes, the caster can include themselves in most spells that target creatures. From the PHB's Spellcasting chapter, the section on Targets (page 204):

Targeting Yourself

If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.

In the case of Bless specifically, it targets creatures of your choice, exactly as described in the above rule:

You bless up to three creatures of your choice within range.

The range is 30 feet, and you are always within 30 feet of yourself, so you can always choose to have Bless affect you.