[RPG] Can a character use Healing Word on themselves


I first thought that the answer to this question was a definite 'yes.' The target is "A creature of your choice that you can see within range" (PHB 250). Presumably the caster is a creature, can be seen by him/herself, and is within range of 60' of him/herself.

Then I read the description for Greater Invisibility which specifies "You or a creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends" (PHB 246). It seems that Wizards have emphasized that Greater Invisibility can be applied to oneself while the same option is not emphasized for Healing Word.

Am I to interpret the lack of a specific option to heal oneself as meaning Healing Word cannot target self?

Bonus question: does this apply to Cure Wounds (PHB 230) as well?

Best Answer


Targeting Yourself

If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you.

(Player's Handbook p204)

In the case of Greater Invisibility, the caster is specified as an additional target to clarify that the caster is a valid target even when the caster cannot be touched (if she were manacled against a wall, for instance). Ordinarily, a spell which only targets "a creature you touch" (such as Cure Wounds or the standard Invisibility spell) cannot be used on any creature that cannot be touched.

What exactly qualifies as "touch" is not precisely defined in the rules; however, the text of Greater Invisibility in particular suggests that touch is not automatic against oneself.