[RPG] Can pulling with Thorn Whip generate an Opportunity Attack?


Let's say my party member is around 30 feet in front of me and engaged with a monster in melee close combat.

If I successfully cast Thorn Whip and pull the monster 10 feet closer to me, will this generate an opportunity attack for my party member who is next to the monster?

Best Answer

No, this won't generate opportunity attacks. The rules on opportunity attacks include this clause:

You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

If a creature doesn't use its own movement, or its own action, it doesn't cause opportunity attacks.