[RPG] Can you (non)magically push yourself


Some spells, like Gust, can push a target to a specified distance (ex: 5 ft for Gust). Some physical effects, like the Battlemaster pushing attack or the default Shove push, can also push a target.

My question is: can you use such an ability/spell to push yourself ? (ex: to move horizontally when under the effect of a Levitate spell, or when your speed has been reduced to 0)

The key part often is "away from you", which could potentially be interpreted as "away from your initial position".

Best Answer

I have actually thought of this before, not for the sake of Levitate, but just to use certain things in this manner.

  1. First off, we have Thunderwave. A caster can include themselves in the area of a spell voluntarily (PHB 204-205, descriptions of each AoE shape). Thus, I have merrily Thunderwave-ed myself in painful attempts to propel myself 10 ft.
  2. With a similar line of thought, we have Gust of Wind.

Mundane options are pretty straight-forward: reach a solid surface or object.

  1. To that end, the first thing that comes to my mind is: a 10 ft Pole, ever useful. Place it between yourself and that which you wish to move away from, and push. Think Gondola.
  2. On the other hand, you can get yourself a Grappling Hook and some rope. Toss the hook and pull.
  3. Get someone/something else to Grapple you and pull/push you where you need to go.

Keep in mind:

  1. You are probably still going to provoke Opportunity Attacks. This is still pretty much voluntary movement, since you're going out of your way to move even with special means. If you are a player, ask your DM about the consequences of whatever options you explore.
  2. You cannot opt to fail a saving throw, even to your own effects. Per this answer, according to RAW you cannot. As that answer mentions, the designers said they'd be fine with a house-rule allowing it, but you'll still have to talk to your DM about it for good measure.
  3. You probably aren't going to increase your movement via the non-magical means. If your speed has been reduced to 0, for example, you would need to talk to your DM to see what, if anything, you can do with these.