[RPG] Does a creature provoke opportunity attacks while riding a carpet of flying


The carpet of flying says:

You can speak the carpet's command word as an action to make the carpet hover and fly. It moves according to your spoken directions, provided you are within 30 feet of it.

If a creature is riding this carpet and leaves the reach of an enemy creature, do they provoke an opportunity attack from them? Specifically, does using an action to command the carpet to move (which then moves you) count as using your action to move for the purposes of provoking an opportunity attack?

Best Answer

No, because the Action is not used to move

If you had to use your Action to make the carpet fly, then you definitely would provoke an opportunity attack, because you only avoid that when:

you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. (PHB, p. 195)

However, the consensus is that a carpet of flying does not require your Action to move, but rather to activate. The spoken directions you deliver to it are not an action, but something you can do in your turn without spending any resources since:

Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.

You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn. (PHB, p. 190)

The Carpet Doesn't Provoke Opportunity Attacks Either

If you considered a carpet's rider to be "mounted" on the carpet, one might be tempted to make the argument that the carpet itself provokes an Opportunity Attack, and the rider would then be attackable as well since:

if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount. (PHB, p. 198)

However, a carpet of flying is an item, not a creature. And the rules state:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. (PHB, p. 195, bold added)

Thus the carpet does not provoke opportunity attacks itself.