[RPG] Does a glaive count as a sword and a halberd an axe for the purpose of magic items


If the party earns a Dragon Slayer Sword, it can be a type of weapon used by one of the party members but it says it must be a sword, so would a Glaive count?

Best Answer

No, glaives aren't swords, and halberds aren't axes. Putting a blade on the end of a pole makes it fundamentally a different weapon. After all, a spear is not a dagger!

That said, if you're the DM (and you're not playing in Adventurers League), you can make substitutions in published adventures' treasure as you see fit. If you want to have the party find a Dragon Slaying Glaive instead of a Dragon Slaying Sword, do it. That sounds pretty cool.