[RPG] Does a Pearl of Power cease to help a Warlock once they level above level 6


We have a warlock in our party that has a Pearl of Power. Since a Pearl of Power restores one spell slot of level 1 to level 3 only, it would seem to become useless to a pure Warlock caster that exceeds level 6, in that they can only have level 4 or higher spell slots depending on their level. Unless I am missing something.

Best Answer

According to Jeremy Crawford:

I'd allow a pearl of power to take an expended spell slot of 4th level or higher and turn it into a 3rd-level slot.

It seems a reasonable compromise to regain lower level slots before your next short rest.

As of the first set of errata to the DMG, this is now the official answer as well.

Pearl of Power (p. 184). The first sentence is now two sentences: “While this pearl is on your person, you can use an action to speak its command word and regain one expended spell slot. If the expended slot was of 4th level or higher, the new slot is 3rd level.”