[RPG] Does Investiture of Stone work at the “end” of a fall


My friend and I tried a mock fight and something very strange rule wise happened. My character is equipped with boots of levitation and grappled his character. We floated up for two turns. He spent his turns casting investiture of stone and dispel (on boots effect).

When we fell he stated that he would fall through the ground and take no damage but I stated that he has to use his own movement to use investiture of stone's effect and since he was grappled he could not. How would this situation work?

Best Answer

Investiture of Stone doesn't mention anything about letting you pass through the ground while falling, nor does it mention anything about reflexively falling through stone.

It does mention:

You can move through solid earth or stone as if it was air and without destabilizing it, but you can’t end your movement there

Given that he has considerable momentum, and there is nothing to stop him, the spell seems to give no options for him to "fall through the ground" as he can't stay in the ground, but he also has no way to brake and move back above ground.

The only logical way of reading this spell is that it allows voluntary, controlled movement through earth/stone but if you fall, you still go splat.