[RPG] Does the offhand attack from Crossbow Expert get a Dex bonus?


The Crossbow Expert feat lets you use a Hand Crossbow in your offhand and take a shot when you attack with your main hand.

Most people I've seen, seem to think this will allow Dual Wielding Hand Crossbows. What I'm curious about is if you get dex mod to damage on the second shot. There are two lines of thought I've come up with on this.

Either it follows the TWF model, where you do not get the offhand weapon's modifier without an extra feat, or it follows the Monk's Bonus attack model, which grants the modifier.

I'm not sure which way to land on this.

Best Answer

The way the feat is worded, it's not actually using the TWF rules. The feat itself allows you to use the crossbow in your offhand as a bonus action, so you get the Dex mod to damage.

A trend can be noticed with feats is that they rarely require another feat to be useful for the character concept. (Though there are some obvious exceptions )

If the intention of the feat was to not allow you the bonus, it would instead allow you to use the handcross bow in your off hand for two weapon fighting.