[RPG] Does the Thrown property mean I can attack with the DEX


On page 194 in the PHB for D&D 5e, it says:

The ability modifier used for melee weapon attack is Strength, and the ability modifier used for ranged weapon attack is Dexterity. Weapons that have the finesse or thrown property break this rule.

So, this means finesse and the thrown property break this rule, which means I can attack with my DEX modifier whenever I use a weapon that has the thrown property. However, it doesn't seem to be the general opinion. Am I missing something?

This would mean I can attack with a spear or a handaxe using my DEX.

Best Answer

Not quite

Weapons with the Thrown property can use their normal (i.e. melee) modifier when being thrown. Using a Finesse weapon allows using DEX, but melee weapons without the Finesse property would use STR:

If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a Handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property.

D&D Basic Rules: Weapon Properties