[RPG] How does druid spellcasting work?


I'm a bit confused about the druid's spellcasting. I checked several forum posts, the errata and the PH in German and English but still got a problem. The 5e PH says on p. 66:

Casting the spell doesn’t remove it from your list of prepared spells.

Does this mean if I prepared Healing Word only one time I can use it as many times as I want to without resting? It's a big discussion between me, some companions and our DM. It feels way too overpowered to be true but everyone understands it this way.

p. 201 says:

Some characters and monsters have special abilities that let them cast spells without using spell slots. For example, a monk who follows the Way of the Four Elements, a warlock who chooses certain eldritch invocations, and a pit fiend from the Nine Hells can all cast spells in such a way.

Is this such an example? Thank you for your help!

Best Answer

Prepared spells

Fifth edition does not use prepared spells in the same way 3.5 used to.

You do not prepare "Healing Word 5 times", you prepare "Healing Word". Then you can cast it using your spell slots, as long as you have the appropriate spell slot left.

You never need to prepare that single spell more than once, unless for some obscure reason you have the same spell on two different spell lists for two different classes, and want to be able to cast it as either class. (Because of attribute scaling or something, for example.)