[RPG] Does the Insignia of Claws magic item work with a druid in Wild Shape


A friend and I want to know if the insignia of claws magic item (HotDQ, p. 94) will work when he is in his Wild Shape form. He is playing a druid (Circle of the Moon). It does say that it affects natural weapons, but we aren't sure if Wild Shape will allow him to "wear" this item in different forms. If so, how would it be attached? Is it like a necklace, or a pin? Would it only work on specific forms?

His favorite forms are polar bear and water elemental.

Best Answer

It would work while Wild Shaped, if you transform into a creature your DM sees as suitable.

As it is only an insignia, it could be attached to a cloak that should be able to be worn in most forms. It would depend on your DM, however, as the PHB states under Wild Shape:

Worn equipment functions as normal, but the DM decides whether it is practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment, based on the creature’s shape and size.

If the DM allows it on a cloak that remains worn, the bonus would affect your attacks as they use natural weapons. But if they rule it wouldn't be feasible to be worn (such as if you transformed into a wasp), it will be merged in and no bonus will apply.