[RPG] How does the keep mentioned in the Throne card from the Deck of Many Things work


Part of the description of the Throne card in the deck of many things states:

In addition, you gain rightful ownership of a small keep somewhere in the world. However, the keep is currently in the hands of monsters, which you must clear out before you can claim the keep as yours.

This means you will have to fight to claim it. But how? Do you have a bunch of random encounters, or is there a number of set battles you need to do?

Best Answer

The Deck of Many Things is in the DMG for a reason - it requires DMG adjudication. There are no further rules because it's up to the DM to decide. It's a plot/story call, not a rules/mechanical one.