[RPG] If your fighter casts Green-Flame Blade or Booming Blade, do you still get extra Attacks


If you're a high-elf fighter who has the Extra Attack feature, when you cast green-flame blade or booming blade, do you get to make your additional attacks?

If so, can you cast the spell again on those additional attacks?

Best Answer

No, because Cast a Spell and Attack are different actions.

Green-flame blade says,

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack...

When you cast this spell, you are taking the "Cast a Spell" action. As part of that action, you make a melee attack.

On the other hand, you must take the "Attack" action in order to use your extra attacks: (the Monk, PHB 79)

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Because casting Green-Flame Blade is not the Attack action, you don't get to access your multiple attacks.

As a comparison, grappling explicitly states that you can grapple as one of your multiattack attacks (PHB 195):

If you’re able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.

If Green-Flame Blade worked this way, it would say so as well.