[RPG] Is a Raging Barbarian immune to 1-damage attacks


A Raging Barbarian has resistance to certain types of damage. An unarmed strike by a class with 0 Strength, for example, does 1 point of damage (not talking about Monk's unarmed strike, just a regular punch).

Does the Barbarian's resistance make him immune to 1-damage attacks? Since the damage is halved and rounded down. Or is there a minimum damage value (namely, 1) that cannot be resisted?

I'm asking because I've decided to create a plague of flesh-eating scarabs, with 1HP and that do 1 point of damage. However, there are hundreds of them, the PCs will have to stay of out reach and use low-level AoEs or simply escape from them. These scarabs do damage by being in contact with enemies, no Attack Roll required, but I don't want the Barbarian do be immune to it.

Best Answer

Alas, there is no minimum damage value. From page 10 of the Sage Advice Compendium:

Can damage be reduced to 0 by resistance or another form of damage reduction? There is no damage minimum in the rules, so it is possible to deal 0 damage with an attack, a spell, or another effect.

Therefore, due to the Round Down rule, the raging barbarian wouldn't be immune in the sense of game mechanic terminology but they would take 0 damage from something that only does 1 point of damage of a type that the barbarian is resistant to.