[RPG] limit to the number of magic rings a character can wear on one hand


I know that in previous editions you could only have one magic ring per hand, is that true in 5th edition (RAW) as well?

Best Answer

The rules that answer this can be found on page 141 of the DMG, under the heading "Multiple Items of the Same Kind".

Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn.

You can make exceptions; a character might be able to wear a circlet under a helmet, for example, or be able to layer two cloaks.

Like many parts of the 5th edition rules, this was left up to the DM. The guidelines in that section make it pretty clear that the only real restriction to how many (non-attuned) magic items of a type you can wear is how many you can physically fit on your body.

There are no rules that I can find that say that rings would be an exception to this, and many rings don't require attunement. You can still only attune three items at a time, but you can wear as many non-attuned rings as you can fit on your fingers.