[RPG] Touch Spells; Cast, move & attack in one round


I was re-reading the section in the SRD about touch spells in combat, when I came across this little nugget:

SRD says:

"Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the
spell and then touch the subject, either in the same round or any time
later. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch
(or attempt to touch) the target. You may take your move before
casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the
spell and touching the target

Now this seems, per RAW, to be pretty concrete, but I'm still having trouble wrapping my head around it. You can really cast the spell, move, and then make your touch attack with the spell, all in the same turn? It's not the "cast & touch with one standard action" that bothers me, that part makes sense. It's that you can squeeze a move action in the middle of it that seems so weird to me. Is this really the RAW? Or am I reading it way wrong?

Best Answer

It's really the rules as written. The spell charges your hand with energy, you move, and then release it as an attack.

You can also take a 5' step between iterative attacks, so this isn't some weird isolated thing.

The idea of standard actions, full actions, and the like are abstractions that exist for game balance reasons; they're not supposed to represent fundamental laws of the universe. So there's nothing weird about getting a move action in the "middle" of a standard action when the rules allow.