[RPG] When casting Inflict Wounds through a familiar, can I reroll the attack roll using the Elven Accuracy feat if I have advantage


If I have a familiar, I can cast Inflict Wounds through it, as per the description of Find Familiar:

Your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell.

Inflict Wounds includes a melee spell attack. The rules for spell attacks state (PHB p. 206) that:

Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus.

The Elven Accuracy feat (XGtE, p. 74) states that

Whenever you have advantage on an attack roll using Dexterity, Intelligence, Wisdom, or Charisma, you can reroll one of the dice once.

The second person pronoun is used in both of these last two wordings. So if the caster's, rather than the familiar's, spellcasting ability modifier and proficiency bonus are used for this melee spell attack, it seems to follow that, given advantage on the attack, a reroll would be available via Elven Accuracy (if the caster has that feat). Is this the case?

Best Answer

Yes you can!

The key is in your first quote. You are still the one making the attack. So you benefit from all your feats. The familiar is a part of you and does not hold its own agency when you are using this ability.

It is worth noting that a familiar cannot attack on it's own, as it cannot use the attack action. As seen in the spell description on p240 of the Player's Handbook.

"Your familiar acts independently of you, but it always obeys your commands. In Combat, it rolls its own Initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't Attack, but it can take other Actions as normal."