[RPG] When firing a weapon with the artificer infusion “Returning Weapon” via catapult, does it come back to your hand after the spell’s conclusion


I'm playing a level 2 Artificer for a campaign with some friends. If I use the "Returning weapon" infusion on a hand-axe and shoot it out via the catapult spell (since a hand-axe weighs around 2 pounds according to the PHB) would the weapon return to my character's hand after spell conclusion?

Best Answer

It would not return.

Per the UA artificer insert1 (emphasis mine),

This magic weapon grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it, and it returns to the wielder’s hand immediately after it is used to make a ranged attack

The description of Catapult reads:

If the object would strike a creature, that creature must make a Dexterity saving throw.

Since you are not making a spell attack roll (ranged or otherwise), Catapult will not trigger the Returning property

1 The UA version of this infusion matches exactly the wording of the official version found in Eberron: Rising from the Last War.