[RPG] With Blind Fighting style from Tasha’s Cauldron Of Everything, can you cast spells that require a target you can see


Blind Fighting, as phrased in Tasha's Cauldron Of Everything, contains additional wording beyond the description of mere Blindsight. The entry for Blind Fighting reads:

You have blindsight with a range of 10 feet. Within that range, you
can effectively see anything that isn’t behind total cover, even if
you’re blinded or in darkness. Moreover, you can see an invisible
creature within that range, unless the creature successfully hides
from you.

Using the optional Class Features for the Fighter class which are presented in TCoE, this Blind Fighting fighting style offers not only 10ft of Blindsight, but the wording above, which by my reading at least heavily implies that you should be able to cast spells which target a space, object, or creature "you can see", within the 10ft range of this ability.

You can explicitly "see an invisible creature", but does "you can effectively see anything that isn't behind total cover" mean that you can cast sighted spells on targets within that 10ft range?

Best Answer

Yes, if the target is within the range of your blindsight

Blindsight functions the same regardless of how you have access to it. The rules given in Tasha do not give any restriction on how you can use it so can use it to target creatures using abilities that require you to be able to see the target. As long as the stated restrictions don't apply in order to prevent you from seeing it, you can target a creature with a sight requiring spell.

As to whether blindsight lets you "See" your target. Firstly, there is a tweet from Jeremy Crawford stating as much here:

Blindsight qualifies for anything in the D&D rules that requires you to see something, provided that thing is within your blindsight's radius.

However, his tweets are not official rules. So let us look at what the rules actually state. First, the rule on attacking something you can't see:

When you attack a target that you can't see, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. This is true whether you're guessing the target's location or you're targeting a creature you can hear but not see. If the target isn't in the location you targeted, you automatically miss, but the DM typically just says that the attack missed, not whether you guessed the target's location correctly.

Now the rule on blindsight:

A creature with blindsight can perceive its surroundings without relying on sight, within a specific radius. Creatures without eyes, such as oozes, and creatures with echolocation or heightened senses, such as bats and true dragons, have this sense.

Note that the blindsight rule doesn't say anything about removing the disadvantage part of the attack roll. Does that mean blindsight doesn't remove the disadvantage from attacks? Of course not, otherwise it would be no different than blindsense.

As such, it must provide the ability to see the target within range.