[RPG] Would Shocking Grasp prevent the target from casting Absorb Elements


If a creature uses Shocking Grasp on another creature that uses its reaction to cast Absorb Elements, will Shocking Grasp, which stops a creature from using reactions, prevent the casting of Absorb Elements since Shocking Grasp should happen first before Absorb Elements does?

Best Answer

Correct, you cannot cast absorb elements in response to shocking grasp

Reactions happen after their triggers unless specified otherwise. The trigger for absorb elements is taking damage...

Reaction which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage

...but when you take damage from shocking grasp, you can't cast reactions anymore:

 On a hit, the target takes 1d8 lightning damage, and it can't take reactions until the start of its next turn

This means that you never have the opportunity to cast absorb elements, as you correctly deduced.

This is different from shield because shield triggers when you are hit or counterspell which triggers when the spell is cast while absorb elements triggers when you take damage. You aren't reaction-blocked until after the hit, and shield can intercede in that hit.