[RPG] Can Alchemist use two different discoveries in the same bomb


Long story short, while talking to my player he asked me this: can alchemist use two different discoveries in the same bomb?

For example, could he use Acid Bomb and Immolation Bomb in the same bomb? Is there anything in the rules preventing that?

We're using Pathfinder RPG.

Best Answer

No, you can't use more than one discovery on one bomb.

At 2nd level, and then again every 2 levels thereafter (up to 18th level), an alchemist makes an incredible alchemical discovery. Unless otherwise noted, an alchemist cannot select an individual discovery more than once. Some discoveries can only be made if the alchemist has met certain prerequisites first, such as uncovering other discoveries. Discoveries that modify bombs that are marked with an asterisk (*) do not stack. Only one such discovery can be applied to an individual bomb. The DC of any saving throw called for by a discovery is equal to 10 + 1/2 the alchemist's level + the alchemist's Intelligence modifier.

from Pathfinder SRD


Some bomb-related discoveries stack can be used together. Take a look at the list of discoveries - the ones marked with a dot do not stack. As a rule of thumb you can have the bomb use one discovery that adds a special effect to a bomb and any number of discoveries that affect how you throw it, e.g. Acid Bomb, Inspired Bomb and Strafe Bomb can be used at the same time, but Acid Bomb and Immolation Bomb can't.

Related Topic