[RPG] Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat use spells from each other’s books


How compatible are the spellbook used a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation?

  1. Can one transcribe a spell from another's book?

  2. Can one cast a ritual directly from another's book?

Best Answer

  1. Yes. PHB 114:

    When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.

    No mention that it has to be in a wizard book, just that it is a wizard spell. Similar text exists for the Ritual Caster feat. The Warlock's Book of Ancient Secrets can copy any ritual.

  2. No. PHB 114:

    You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don't need to have the spell prepared.

    Again, similar text exists for the Warlock and the Feat.