[RPG] Can you target yourself while blinded or invisible


Several spells, like Healing Word and Hold Person, require you to see your target. Does this mean that you aren't allowed to target yourself with spells that require you to see your target when you're blinded or invisible? For reference:

Healing Word

A creature of your choice that you can see within range regains hit points equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier.
This spell has no effect on undead or constructs.

Hold Person

Choose a humanoid that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be paralyzed for the duration. At the end of each of its turns, the target can make another Wisdom saving throw. On a success, the spell ends on the target.

Best Answer

If the spell requires you to see a creature to target then you can't target yourself when you are invisible. The exception to this is if either:

  • The spell/effect that caused the invisibility allows you to see yourself
  • You have some other item or effect (like Truesight) that allows you to see invisible creatures

Supporting unofficial tweet from Jeremy Crawford:

You can't see yourself while invisible, unless you're under the effect of a game feature that says you can.

If you are blinded you can't see, and as a result you can't use spells that require you to see the target as you can't see anything


  • A blinded creature can't see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature's attack rolls have disadvantage.

Here are some additional unofficial supporting tweets from Jeremy Crawford: here and here